+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Spouse attacks you then calls the police to say you abused him

Unregistered Guest

Spouse attacks you then calls the police to say you abused him

I am only beginning to be able to be able to talk about what happened to me. I had pretty bad self esteem, and so went with the first guy who seemed interested in having kids with me. Things moved quickly. He seemed like a sweet, humble, loving guy. I was six months pregnant when I moved in with him and realized too late that the humble, mellow, loving personality was all marijuana. Without the low level buzz he maintained most of the time he was a real monster. A few months after the first baby was born, and while I was pregnant with our second, he physically attacked me during an argument. I didn't know what hit me. He came from behind and slammed me into a wall and pounced on me when I hit the floor. He started swinging fists at me face and smacking me in the head. And this wasn't the worst of it. He stopped swinging his fists and said "I'm not going to jail". He went to the phone and called 911 and stated "she's attacking me and the baby". When the police arrived I was out of my mind and hysterical, and he was calm and rational. I couldn't believe that this was happening. The police believed him and threatened to haul me off to jail. He acted the "good guy" and said no don't take her to jail I'll handle this. I can't even begin to describe what life was like after that. Of course I was terrified what he might do to the baby. He'd tried to leave the baby many times with a man I didn't like. who later was convicted of child molestation and committed suicide. Going to lawyers, family courts, family counselors was useless. I couldn't prove anything and in the eyes of the police he'd had more credibility than me, and so he had more credibility than me everywhere; and the child molester guy hadn't been caught yet so I had no proof there either. If I left him he'd get 50% custody of the baby, and