+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Why do I miss him?

Unregistered Guest

Why do I miss him?

Hi, I'm just coming out of an emotionally abusive relationship that I'm just beginning to accept was emotionally abusive and that he exhibits several traits of covert narcissism. I know my mental and emotional state is healthier without him-as it was each of the thousand "breaks" our relationship took- even with the depression ad withdrawal symptoms. The problem is, though I know all this with my head, I still miss him. My heart still hurts. And just when I think I'm getting past it, I slide backwards and end up in tears on the floor. Granted, this was a 15 yr relationship starting when I was really young, not all of it romantic. I know it will take time, but is it normal to climb out and feel like you're getting somewhere, just to suddenly find yourself back where you started at a certain song or a passing thought? How do I separate myself from him emotionally?
    (I know, this is not a forum for professional advice, but I would like to hear others' perspectives and experiences.)

i relate to what youre saying. not to the "covert narcissim" part, but to the idea of missing a relationship that was bad for you but lasted for many years.

first, it was a huge part of my life. just by the amount of time spent on it, you know. how many hours a day we interacted, how many activities this person was a part of that im now doing alone, without them, etc. its just a big empty gap till i fill it with something new, and that takes time, doesnt happen overnight.