+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Looking for someone who gets it.

Looking for someone who gets it.

I've been staring at this thread space trying to figure out what to write. I understand little about what's happening with me. I only started to really remember the abuse a few years ago. The images that play in my headspace take place from age 5 through 13. My therapist calls these flashbacks. He is great but he doesn't really get it. The struggle is day to day and most of the time I feel very isolated. My family refuses to acknowledge the abuse. They spend a great deal of time trying to convince me that it isn't real. I guess I'm here because I'm trying to find someone who simply understands or maybe even someone who can help me better understand. This is my first time trying something like this so I'm not even sure if this is what I'm supposed to write. Here's hoping someone responds with some insight.

2. The following 3 users say thank you to JJUNSURE for this useful post:

Alia (12-01-2016),Jane (12-01-2016),weepingwillow (11-28-2016)

Welcome. There are a lot of people here who can relate to what you wrote.

4. The following user says thank you to Jobriel for this useful post:

Jane (12-01-2016)

Affection
    ok
    Your words are familiar. I started remembering things when I was 30 and most of the people I tried talking to about it just blew me off. Some of it is so weird even I have a hard time believing it. It often comes on like movies playing out in my head, where I'm watching a scene where something happens to me, but I'm in the corner or on the ceiling or something. Other times I feel the emotions and sensations but have no visuals so I have to just guess what it was that happened. You are definitely not alone.