+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Domestic Violence

Domestic Violence

Hello all,

I am new the community. I am a survivor of domestic violence. I have only had one abusive relationship. It last from the time I was 21 until I was 26. I met this man when I was 17 years old.

I am new to the survivor community. I still feel shame about having been a victim. I have been blamed for the abuse. I have been blamed for retaliating. I have been emotionally abused, name-called... I can't even count how many times he physically hurt me.

I don't want to admit I am a shell of my former self. Any guidance in how to recover is appreciated.

2. The following 2 users say thank you to leolady22 for this useful post:

freedom2016 (11-25-2017),weepingwillow (11-11-2016)

Is it my fault that he threatened to hit me?

My husband and I have been arguing the last 3 hours. He called me names, put me down, saying I was in a hole before I married him and I should look at what he's given me...not the 1st time and when I got really angry after he said he would take responsabilities away from me (he couldn't take my phone cause I told him it was a gift though he tried) I slammed my fist down on a bureau a few times. He feels like everything he owns he poured his life blood into it and I know he hates it when I do that. So he grabbed my sweater by the neck collar, twisted it a bit and brought my face close to his and said with a fist in my face that if I did it again he would hit me in the face. He walked away and I stupidly at one point later hit the files on his desk with my fist, and he walked up fast and made a fist as if he was going to hit me so I moved my head back.

Last week I couldn't see something well, so he got impatient grabbed my head and neck to move me over. My neck had no bruise but it hurt for about 15 minutes after.

When we argue we say things that are not nice to one another so I feel like I didn't help.