+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Why can't I join if I'm not an abuse survivor?

fairbanks Guest

Why can't I join if I'm not an abuse survivor?

When I was a few years younger, I was struggling significantly with mental health issues - borderline personality disorder, self harm and depression. Linked with severe low self esteem. I stumbled across this website, after going through a lot. I found it to be the most accessible, the most supportive and had the most help for me. I would spend hours on here, telling my story, hearing others, being supported and gently supporting others struggle.

I work as a Youth Worker now, and have supported one of my distressed young people by informing them about this site.

I have never been abused. Not really. I have had had a good childhood, but as a teenager I, like the majority of womankind, have been verbally by men through cat calling, a little bit of grooming and verbal abuse through social media. I do not consider what I have been through as 'abuse'; in the sense of the word. So when trying to register with this site, I did not check the button for abuse. However, I tried to register saying that I have other emotional distress that I needed support with. But the website rejected me.

I cannot explain how upset and un-supportive this action is. I believed this website was all inclusive. Regardless of experience or journey. It is a shame that this has happened, and I have no chose to come to this site not to primarily seek support, but to give it. I wanted to spend my evening supporting and reassuring others. I wanted to give to people what I received those years ago.

It is a shame that I now cannot do that, because this site it amazing. Not just for those who have been abused, but for those who feel like they have been abuse by life, by experience and for those who just need that warm and supportive online environment to help them through these dark and lonely nights.